Videos & Customer Testimonials

Some of what folks are saying about Loch Island Lodge, Camp Lochalsh and our outpost cabins on Wabatongushi Lake…

Jump to: Reviews Below Videos… feel free to leave your own reviews in the comments at the bottom, or on Google.

Video Player:

  • Select thumbnails below player to view desired videos
  • First video is our main Loch Island Lodge (updated since video). Other accommodations available too!
  • Videos show some older boat motors – all of our boats now have newer 4-stroke motors with electric start!

(REVIEWS LINK – hidden – don’t erase)


Your Ratings and Reviews:

Amazing Week

Aug 2018 – This was our third visit and it just keeps getting better. The staff is spot on – always. They are always there to help in anyway while treating you like family (a warm and friendly family that is). The very busy owners (Andy and Amy) continue to make improvements; this year we were surprised with the beautiful boardwalks and private decks for each cabin. The fishing (catching) was incredible (242 walleye in the boat – yeah baby) – next year we will take time to explore the trails and the nearby mining ghost towns. The cedar strip wood boats are so cool and handle beautifully (we now want one). I included a picture of my parents fishing, they joined us the last 3 days. If you are looking for a true north fishing adventure Loch Island Lodge offers that rustic feel with all the modern amenities and it’s located in an unbelievable picturesque area. I just can’t describe how relaxing and beautiful it is to be out on the lake when the loones start sounding off. Every year we take lots of pictures of the loones and eagles; the first year we were lucky enough to see a moose. We just love it and can’t wait to return. Oh – can’t forget to mention the delicious meals and the fun shore lunches (walleye, beans, potatoes and a vegie) that are prepared over an open fire everyday at a remote spot on the lake. I miss it already.

kmcfarland2018
Michigan

Google Review

July 2018 – Great place to relax and catch fish. Walleye and Northern are the main fish. Food was outstanding! The staff is always waiting to help you. They will have your boat ready every time you head out. If they missed something ask and they will get it for you. I almost gave 4 stars because of one male worker that did not belong at this Lodge. I went with 5 because the rest of the staff made up for him. I was never hungry! Hope I can return soon.

Todd Davis

Google Review

July 2018 – Great place, great scenic views, great fishing really good accommodations for it’s location, because it is definitely secluded!!

Bailey/Alan/Lachanna Hall

Google Review

June 2018 – Love this place very friendly and accommodating food here is phenomenal will be going again

Mike Graca

Google Review

Feb 2018 – For 20 plus years I have been visiting this Lodge along with its neighboring Lodge Camp Lochalsh. The fishing is wonderful. It is a great place to unwind and be with Nature. The lake is 20 plus miles long and a few miles wide at most. Plenty of secluded bays to fish for Walleye and Pike. There are other species of fish in this water also. I just don’t have any experience fishing those. The Wilson family will do what they can to make your trip as enjoyable as possible.

Dan Farkas

Google Review

Jan 2018 – Great lake, Amazing fishing, Awesome Staff and Beautiful cabins on islands or at a main camp! Definitely a must go!

Lora Powell

5 days of fishing fun!

July 2017 – Just had the opportunity to spend 5 days fishing at Loch Island and it was awesome! The trip to the lodge was enjoyable and scenic. Upon arrival we were met by the staff who showed us around and helped us move our gear to our cabin. The cabin was clean and had comfy beds along with a fridge and stove. The lake is big enough to easily spend a week fishing and there are also back lakes to explore if you feel the need for a change in scenery. The dock staff are super helpful and the boat and motors are top notch. If you enjoy fishing then this is certainly one of the best places in Ontario.

Gary N
Toronto, Canada

July 2017

Andy and Amy,
First and foremost, you and your staff were the best that we have ever been associated with over 35 years of fishing throughout Ontario and USA. The accommodations, meals, hospitality and fishing were great. The help of Spencer as our guide was excellent and the lake was much easier to fish in after our time with him. He showed us some good places to catch walleyes which we took advantage of. Some were small but we managed to bring some home and help out to feed the guests with some shore lunch fish. The American Plan that you offer is excellent with absolutely no complaints. Our only complaint is that we ate too much throughout the week.
Please take care and have a wonderful summer.

Michael Wicks and Mel McRae

Best Spot on Earth

I have been to Camp Lochalsh for seven trips in 16 years. It is the most quiet and peaceful place I know. And the fishing is outstanding; plentiful and good sized. The staff is so nice and helpful. You are pampered and so well taken care of. This is not roughing it! It is worth every penny. See you next year at shore lunch!

always4lions

Another Wonderful Adventure

Thanks to Andy and Amy again for providing a quality fishing/vacation experience at Loch Island. The staff is attentive, friendly and capable. The lodging outstanding (Otter Island) and the lake(s) at your complete disposal. This lodge is worth every penny, wether you bring your own food or let Amy and staff pamper you. Andy is affable and flexible in taking care of you/your groups needs. This is my 3rd trip in 7 years and each year it seems better, we look forward to returning and the possibility of bringing our “girls”. Thanks again

drmarks23

A True Heaven on Earth

I’ve been to many camps over the years – and now I can stop looking. this is an outdoorsman’s paradise with all of the amenities. The only negative I can think of is “when you have to leave” From the food to the boats and the entire staff its all first class. I can’t until July!!! Andy & Amy what a great job!

Mark Strimple

A great trip to Loch Island Lodge – Isle of Jordon outpost cabin

I took my three sons (ages 15, 17 and 21) for 4 days of fishing at Loch Island Lodge. We flew in with Hawk Air (excellent service too!). From my initial inquiry to saying goodbye at the dock, Andy and Amy were helpful and responsive. The staff are fantastic and eager to respond to any request you have. Anything done was done well. We had a wonderful trip and would not hesitate to go again.

Robert_From_Windsor

Peaceful Paradise with GOOD FISHING

We just spent a week at Loch Island Lodge. The cabins were nice, hot running water, cooking facilities if you want to have your own fish fry. We did the American Plan. All meals, and very good meals, shore lunch was fun, and the guide the first day was great, too. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Andy and Amy are wonderful hosts!! Fishing was good, for July. We caught Pike, Walleye, and Perch. We caught fish every day. We took the train from Sault Ste. Marie because I wanted to experience it once. It’s a beautiful trip, but it is long (about 7 hours from the Sault to the stop where we were picked up). We were picked up by lodge staff, and dropped off at the end of the week for return trip on the train.

Datakat

Another Great Trip

Just came back from another fun filled week on Loch Island. Like always the fishing was fantastic. We caught plenty of Walleye for Shore Lunch and our late evening gatherings. Our group is rather large with 20 plus members but Andy and Amy do a great job of accommodating us. This year we had the modified plan which includes a great continental breakfast and a full course dinner. This allows us to stay on the lake all day and cook a shore lunch or eat a sandwich in our boats. The dinners were all yummy with fresh baked bread, salads, meats, pastas, potatoes, and veggies, topped off by a delectable dessert each night. Want coffee with your dessert they have that too. I was a lil let down that Amy didn’t have Cabbage Rolls on the menu this year haha!! I guess the Prime Rib made up for it! The cabins had all the clean linens towels soaps and kitchen utensils you need to make for a complete enjoyable stay. The boats and motors are excellent too. Best of all you won’t find as much or more for less!!!
I could ramble on and on but you get the point.

Spikeskony

Absolutely an Amazing Experience!

In the two trips our family has taken to Loch Island the fun we had can’t be compared to anything else! Everyone is extremely nice and helpful! I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys fishing and the outdoors!

Thetank9

Walleye

Andy and Amy are great hosts. Been going to Loch Island Lodge for the past 15 or so years. Have stayed at other lodges but Loch Island is by far the best. Great accommodations. Great staff. Great fishing. From the main island to the outposts always have a great time!

Greg S.

Never Ever Disappoints.

pros & cons??? if you are reading this review you will not encounter any cons. without question I’m truly envious of anybody who is able to stay there the entire season. packing up & leaving is always the toughest. as a young angler I use to dream of going to a place like this & its safe to say my dreams are now a reality as an adult. LOCH ISLAND LODGE on WABATONGUSHI delivers world class walleye & pike fishing. there is always somebody in ” ready mode ” to assist you with all the services the lodge has to offer. there was one spring we went my buddy neglect to bring the proper tackle & thankfully the lodge is/was fully equipped with a wide variety of fishing tackle. all high quality gear from professional brands you would find at BASS PRO or CANADIAN TIRE : ) funny…even though there are days when mother nature is doing all she can to ruin your trip, its been proven to me that’s when the fishing really comes alive. all of my biggest fish were caught when it was rainy, windy & cloudy. oh ya…remember, your in/on the largest wild game preserve on the planet so keep an eye out. I was lucky enough to see an eastern cougar…are really rare sight one morning. this truly has become one of my homes away from homes : )

Brandon F.

Loch Island Camp Review

Excellent Canadian fishing adventure, have been to many other camps across Ontario and Loch Island by far has been one of my favorites, Amy and Andy and their Staff at Loch Island camp are top notch, Excellent Camp, Cabins, Food, Boats and Motors, Shore Lunch was fantastic, lots of Walleye and Pike in Lake Wabatongushi a Beautiful watershed. Going back again this year!

Edward S.

My son and I

I just returned from Camp Lochalsh. I wanted a trip for my 13 year old son and I in Canada that was rustic but had some amenities. We booked a trip to Camp Lochalsh which is on the mainland south of Loch Island. For those that don’t want to read the whole review, we found exactly what we were looking for.



Camp Lochalsh is the old “main lodge” of the Lochalsh resort. Now the main lodge is Loch Island. We were able to drive right up to Camp Lochalsh with my pickup. I wouldn’t try it with a car. The road to Camp Lochalsh is easy until Dubreuilville and then it gets progressively rougher, but the trip has great views.



The cabin the my son and I stayed in was much larger than needed but it was comfortable and contained a kitchen and bathroom with running water. My son and I took everything in to the cabin that we needed for the week as we stayed on the housekeeping plan. There are no meals provided at Camp Lochalsh. Only at Loch Island. We took in enough food for 3 or 4 meals for the week. That was not a problem because we caught plenty of fish. We caught walleye, northern pike and whitefish.

Camp Lochalsh is under renovation and it will be excellent when the renovations are complete. During the renovations, the stay was still excellent and I commend Amy and Andy for working to restore the Camp.

All-in-all, it was exactly what I was looking for, a remote fishing camp that has amenities of home including electricity, running water, flush toilets and showers. We didn’t get to see any moose but we did see bear, eagles, beavers and much additional wildlife.



No cell service is available but Amy and Andy do provide wifi.

Paul S.

Accommodations are great and the fishing is even better!! If you like catching fish Loch Island on Lake Wabtongushi is a place you must check out!!

Trevor Bunek

This is one of the best places in the world to reconnect with friends, family and yourself. Give it a try you won’t be disappointed.

Linda Helm

We stayed for 5 nights and we loved it! This will become an annual trip and hope to bring the family next time! Great people, great place, great fishing!

Kristy McFarland

This place is great! The owners and staff treat you like friends. I’ve been there twice, once with the family and once with friends. It’s perfect for any kind of group. I will go back again I’m sure.

Ryan Murray

I’ve been going to Loch Island for 10 consecutive years and have enjoyed it every time. You know that you’ve found a good place when you meet people who have been coming here for 20+ years. The accommodations and dinners are great, the staff is great. If there is ever a problem, they will immediately take care of it, no questions asked. Plenty of fishing and fantastic scenery. They can accommodate groups of all sizes, but make sure you book early.

Joon Hur

8th year and still great.

I just completed my 8th year to Loch Island Lodge and it was as great as the first. Andy and Amy are fantastic host’s and their whole staff is the best. They are always there to offer help, advice and just to make sure everything is going well. The food is fantastic, fishing is great and wildlife viewing never lets us down. Book with them, you will want to go back every year…

727Bruceh

Amazing Family Vacation

My Grandsons have been accompanying my son and I to Loch Island for a father/son fishing trip ever since they turned ten. They are now 17 and 19 and while we fish many places together Loch Island is our favorite summer time destination. Amy and Andy take care to make every guest feel welcome and “at home”. We fill our take home limit every summer and so far I’m the only one that hasn’t made the Walleye catch and release board with a big fish. Maybe next summer!

Bill S.

Always A Great Time

We’ll be headed back for our 10th year. Ten years ago, myself and a couple of friends were planning a “fly-in” fishing trip. The idea of flying into a secluded lake and being the only ones on the lake was inviting. However, we figured that for our first time out, perhaps we should find a mix of seclusion and convenience. We found Loch Island Lodge in our research and their Modified American Plan was just what we needed. It allowed us to be one our own, but have the conveniences.
The Owners (Andy and Amy Wilson) are great people and their Staff is awesome. Whether it’s a question about the best spots to fish or what tackle to use, they are always willing to help. Don’t miss the dinners, if you leave the table hungry, it’s your fault. Don’t worry, you’ll have time to go back out after dinner for more fishing.
The wooden boats are sturdy and handle well in all weather conditions (unlimited gas!!). The cabins are clean and well furnished. It is nice to have a hot shower at the end of a long day fishing.
We’ve looked at other fishing lodges over the years. In general they offer similar packages, but I always find myself going back to Loch Island Lodge.

Cras339

If you would like to share your experience with us, feel free to add your comments below...

More Information:

One thought on “Videos & Customer Testimonials

  1. Michael Wicks

    Andy and Amy,
    First and foremost, you and your staff were the best that we have ever been associated with over 35 years of fishing throughout Ontario and USA. The accommodations, meals, hospitallity and fishing were great. The help of Spencer as our guide was excellent and the lake was much easier to fish in after our time with him. He showed us some good places to catch walleyes which we took advantage of. Some were small but we managed to bring some home and help out to feed the guests with some shorelunch fish. The American Plan that you offer is excellent with absolutely no complaints. Our only complaint is that we ate to much throughout the week.
    Please take care and have a wonderful summer.
    Michael Wicks and Mel McRae

    Reply

Leave us a Comment or Reply... (use "Post Comment" button below Email and Name fields)